Placement Test Information Sessions

Placement test Information sessions are available throughout the year to help you make the most of each attempt on the placement tests.  For more information and to register for an Information session, please call the corresponding location.

Main Campus Learning Commons: (630) 942-3941
Carol Stream Learning Commons: (630) 942-4900
Naperville Learning Commons: (630) 942-4750
Westmont Learning Commons: (630) 942-4850

Placement Test Information Sessions

 

Reading Placement Test Information Sessions

The reading Information session helps students get accustomed to the test format. The session provides an overview of the Reading Comprehension test, sample questions, and study aids.

Thursday, Aug. 18, 1 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Sept. 6, 1 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Sept. 6, 6 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Wednesday, Sept. 7, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Thursday, Sept. 8, 6:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Wednesday, Sept 21, 6 p.m.at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Oct. 4, 6:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Wednesday, Oct. 5, 2 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Thursday, Oct. 6, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Tuesday, Oct. 11, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Monday, Nov. 7, 1 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Nov. 8, 6:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Tuesday, Nov. 8, 6 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Thursday, Nov. 10, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Tuesday, Nov. 29, 6 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Dec. 6, 6:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 1 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Thursday, Dec. 8, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Center

Writing Placement Information Session

An overview of the Writing Sentence Skills test, sample questions, and study aids.

Thursday, Aug. 18, 2 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Sept. 6, 2 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Sept. 6, 7 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Wednesday, Sept. 7, 7:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Thursday, Sept. 8, 7:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Wednesday, Sept 21, 7 p.m.at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Oct. 4, 7:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Wednesday, Oct. 5, 3 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Thursday, Oct. 6, 7:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Tuesday, Oct. 11, 11 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Monday, Nov. 7, 2 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Nov. 8, 7:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Tuesday, Nov. 8, 7 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Thursday, Nov. 10, 7:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Tuesday, Nov. 29, 7 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Dec. 6, 7:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 3 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Thursday, Dec. 8, 7:30 p.m. at Naperville Center

ESL Placement Test Information Session

 An overview of the ESL tests (Reading Skills, Sentence Meaning, Language Use, Listening), preparation tips, and study aids. ESL workshops are only available at the main campus.

Wednesday, August 17
- Reading Skills: 3 p.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 3:30 p.m.
- Language Use: 4 p.m.
- Listening: 4:30 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 9
- Reading Skills: 10 a.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 10:30 a.m.
- Language Use: 11 a.m.
- Listening: 11:30 a.m.
Thursday, Oct. 20
- Reading Skills: 6 p.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 6:30 p.m.
- Language Use: 7 p.m.
- Listening: 7:30 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 14
- Reading Skills: 1 p.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 1:30 p.m.
- Language Use: 2 p.m.
- Listening: 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 1
- Reading Skills: 10 a.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 10:30 a.m.
- Language Use: 11 a.m.
- Listening: 11:30 a.m.

Math Placement Test Information Sessions
Information and tips about the test. Learn how to sign up for and navigate the ALEKS Placement, Preparation, and Learning module. No math instruction is given at these sessions.

Monday, Aug. 22, noon at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 3 p.m. at Westmont Center
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 6 p.m. at Naperville Center
Wednesday, Aug. 31, 4 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Wednesday, Sept. 7, 4 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Common
Thursday, Sept. 22, 5 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Oct. 5, noon at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, Oct. 6, 3 p.m. at Westmont Center
Thursday, Oct. 6, 6 p.m. at Naperville Center
Tuesday, Oct. 18, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, Oct. 20, 5 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Nov. 9, 3 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Monday, Nov. 14, 6 p.m. at Naperville Center
Tuesday, Nov. 15, 6 p.m. at Westmont Center
Wednesday, Nov. 16, 4 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Monday, Dec. 5, 4 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, Dec. 15, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons

 Geometry Review Workshops
The Geometry Workshops are intended for students who need to take the Geometry Placement Test and who have taken geometry at one time but want to review. The Geometry Review is given in two 2-hour sessions and it is suggested that students attend both workshops. Geometry Workshops are only available at the main campus.

Session 1: Angles, Parallel Lines, and Triangles

Tuesday, Sept. 6, 10 a.m.
Monday, Oct. 3, 3 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 2, 2 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 6, 11 a.m.

Session 2: Circles and Quadrilaterals

Friday, Aug. 19, noon
Thursday, Sept. 8, 10 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 5, 3 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 4, 2 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 8, 11 a.m.