Placement Test Information Sessions

Placement test Information sessions are available throughout the year to help you make the most of each attempt on the placement tests.  For more information and to register for an Information session, please call the corresponding location.

Main Campus Learning Commons: (630) 942-3941
Addison Learning Commons: (630) 942-4650
Carol Stream Learning Commons: (630) 942-4900
Naperville Learning Commons: (630) 942-4750
Westmont Learning Commons: (630) 942-4850

Placement Test Information Sessions

 

Reading Placement Test Information Sessions

The reading Information session helps students get accustomed to the test format. The session provides an overview of the Reading Comprehension test, sample questions, and study aids.

Tuesday, Dec. 6, 6:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 1 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Thursday, Dec. 8, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Thursday, Jan. 5, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Jan. 10, noon at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Jan. 10, 6 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Tuesday, Jan. 10, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Wednesday, Jan. 11, 6 p.m. at Westmont Center
Thursday, Jan. 12, 3 p.m. at Addison Center 
Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Feb. 1, 6 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Feb. 7, 6 p.m. at Addison and Carol Stream Centers
Wednesday, Feb. 8, 6:30p.m. at Naperville Center
Thursday, Feb. 9, 6 p.m. at Westmont Center 
Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, March 2, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Monday, March 20, 6 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, April 4,1 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, April 19, 6 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, May 4, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, May 9, 6 p.m. at Carol Stream and Westmont Center
Wednesday, May 10, 6 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, May 10, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Learning Commons
Thursday, May 11, 6 p.m. at Addison Center
Tuesday, May 23, 1 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons

Writing Placement Information Session

An overview of the Writing Sentence Skills test, sample questions, and study aids.

Tuesday, Dec. 6, 7:30 p.m. at Westmont Center
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 3 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Thursday, Dec. 8, 7:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Thursday, Jan. 5, 11 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Jan. 10, 1 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Jan. 10, 7 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Tuesday, Jan. 10, 7:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Wednesday, Jan. 11, 7 p.m. at Westmont Center
Thursday, Jan. 12, 4 p.m. at Addison Center
Wednesday, Jan. 18, 3 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Feb. 1, 7 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Feb. 7, 7 p.m. at Addison and Carol Stream Centers
Wednesday, Feb. 8, 7:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Thursday, Feb. 9, 7 p.m. at Westmont Center
Tuesday, Feb. 14, 3 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, March 2, 11 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Monday, March 20, 7 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, April 4, 2 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, April 19, 7 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, May 4, 11 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, May 9, 7 p.m. at Carol Stream and Westmont Center
Wednesday, May 10, 7 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, May 10, 7:30 p.m. at Naperville Learning Commons
Thursday, May 11, 7 p.m. at Addison Center
Tuesday, May 23, 2 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons

ESL/ELS Placement Test Information Session

 An overview of the ESL/ELS tests (Reading Skills, Sentence Meaning, Language Use, Listening), preparation tips, and study aids. ESL/ELS workshops are only available at the main campus.

Monday, Jan. 9
- Reading Skills: 10 a.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 10:30 a.m.
- Language Use: 11 a.m.
- Listening: 11:30 a.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 17
- Reading Skills: 3 p.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 3:30 p.m.
- Language Use: 4 p.m.
- Listening: 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 15
- Reading Skills: 3 p.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 3:30 p.m.
- Language Use: 4 p.m.
- Listening: 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 15
- Reading Skills: 6 p.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 6:30 p.m.
- Language Use: 7 p.m.
- Listening: 7:30 p.m.
Monday, April 10
- Reading Skills: 10 a.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 10:30 a.m.
- Language Use: 11 a.m.
- Listening: 11:30 a.m.
Tuesday, May 2
- Reading Skills: 6 p.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 6:30 p.m.
- Language Use: 7 p.m.
- Listening: 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, May 24
- Reading Skills: 1 p.m.
- Sentence Meaning: 1:30 p.m.
- Language Use: 2 p.m.
- Listening: 2:30 p.m.

Math Placement Test Information Sessions
Information and tips about the test. Learn how to sign up for and navigate the ALEKS Placement, Preparation, and Learning module. No math instruction is given at these sessions.

Monday, Dec. 5, 4 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, Dec. 15, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Jan. 4, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, Jan. 5, 4 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, Jan. 5, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Saturday, Jan. 7, 10 a.m. at Westmont Center
Monday, Jan. 9, 1 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Jan. 11, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, Jan. 12, 6 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Tuesday, Jan. 17, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Thursday, Jan. 19, 3 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Jan. 25, noon at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Feb. 1, 6 p.m. at Carol Stream Center
Thursday, Feb. 2, 3 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, Feb. 15, 10 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Tuesday, Feb. 28, noon at Main Campus Learning Commons
Monday, March 6, 10 a.m at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, March 15, 4 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Monday, April 3, 3 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, April 19, 11 a.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, May 3, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Thursday, May 4, 7 p.m. at Westmont Center
Monday, May 8, noon at Main Campus Learning Commons
Wednesday, May 10, 6:30 p.m. at Naperville Center
Saturday, May 13, 10 a.m. at Carol Stream Center
Wednesday, May 17, 3 p.m. at Main Campus Learning Commons

 Geometry Review Workshops
The Geometry Workshops are intended for students who need to take the Geometry Placement Test and who have taken geometry at one time but want to review. The Geometry Review is given in two 2-hour sessions and it is suggested that students attend both workshops. Geometry Workshops are only available at the main campus.

Session 1: Angles, Parallel Lines, and Triangles

Tuesday, Dec. 6, 11 a.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 4, noon
Tuesday, Jan. 17, noon
Monday, Feb. 6, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, March 14, 10 a.m.
Tuesday, April 4, 10 a.m.
Monday, May 8, 4 p.m.

Session 2: Circles and Quadrilaterals

Thursday, Dec. 8, 11 a.m.
Thursday, Jan. 5, noon
Thursday, Jan. 19, noon
Wednesday, Feb. 8, 3 p.m.
Thursday, March 16, 10 a.m.
Thursday, April 6, 10 a.m.
Wednesday, May 10, 4 p.m.