Writing, Reading, and Speech Workshops

Do You Want to Improve Your Skills?

Join us at the following 45-minute workshops conducted by part-time faculty in the Learning Commons, SRC 2102. Call (630) 942-3355 for more information and to register. If you are unable to attend, video recordings are available for some workshops.


Getting Started in Writing
Tuesday, January 31, 1 p.m.

Participants will learn helpful strategies to overcome writer's block and generate ideas

Time Management
Thursday, February 2, 1 p.m.

A brief overview of learning styles, time management principles, and best methods for success.

Textbook Strategies and Note-Taking
Wednesday, February 8, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies to help you comprehend the information in your college textbooks and to take effective notes.

Fear of Public Speaking
Thursday, February 9, 1 p.m.

Participants will learn the sources of public speaking anxiety and strategies to try to overcome that fear.

Catchy Attention Getters and Clinchers (for speeches)
Thursday, February 16, 1 p.m.

This workshop focuses on how to hook an audience and finish strong in your speeches and presentations.

Test Taking Strategies
Monday,February 20, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies to become more effective in preparing for and completing exams.

Oral Citations
Thursday, February 23, 1 p.m.

This workshop focuses on proper oral citations and best practices for avoiding plagiarism in speeches.

Commas: When and Where?
Wednesday, March 1, 1 p.m.

Learn easy strategies to refresh comma skills and incorporate them correctly into your writing.

Formatting a Paper
Thursday, March 2, 1 p.m.

Participants will create correctly-formatted templates for academic papers in MLA and/or APA styles.  Tips for formatting a bibliography will be shared.

Fear of Public Speaking
Monday, March 6, 1 p.m.

Participants will learn the sources of public speaking anxiety and strategies to try to overcome that fear.

Understanding Inferences
Wednesday, March 8, 1 p.m.

This workshop will demonstrate techniques for making valid inferences in reading material that requires critical thinking.

Creating Effective Visual Aids
Thursday, March 9, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies to create effective, impactful visual aids.

Catchy Attention Getters and Clinchers (for speeches)
Monday, March 13, 1 p.m.

This workshop focuses on how to hook an audience and finish strong in your speeches and presentations.

Avoiding Plagiarism
Tuesday, March 14, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies to avoid the plagiarism trap when researching and writing an academic essay.

Getting Organized in Writing
Wednesday, March 22, 1 p.m.

Learn techniques to organize ideas and to begin drafting your essay.

Oral Citations
Wednesday, April 5, 1 p.m.

This workshop focuses on proper oral citations and best practices for avoiding plagiarism in speeches.

Paragraphs - Introductions and Conclusions
Tuesday, April 11, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies for writing effective introductions and conclusions. Learn how to recognize when improvement is needed.

Effective and Ineffective Persuasion
Thursday, April 13, 1 p.m.

Learn to effectively persuade an audience by constructing logical arguments.

Creating Effective Visual Aids
Wednesday, April 19, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies to create effective, impactful visual aids.

Revising in Writing
Wednesday, April 26, 1 p.m.

Bring a current essay that you wish to revise and learn specific techniques to polish your essay.

 

Workshop Videos:

If you can't attend one of our workshops, some of them can be viewed online.

Speech:

Writing:

Study Skills:

Contact Information


Learning Commons
Student Resource Center (SRC), Room 2102, (630) 942-3941

Mathematics Assistance
(630) 942-3339

Writing, Reading, and Speech Assistance
(630) 942-3355

Tutoring Services
(630) 942-3686