

2021 – 2022 CELEBRATION of ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE College of DuPage Salutes:

Honors Student Advisory Committee (HSAC) Officers

Honors Scholars

Honors Scholar Candidates

Honors Program Transfer Scholarship Recipients

Outstanding Graduates

Outstanding Honors Faculty Award Recipient

Academic Excellence Award Recipients

STEM Student Success Scholarship Completers

Honors Council of the Illinois Region Student Symposium

Honors Council of the Illinois Region Student Symposium Presenters

Illinois Community College Faculty Association Scholarship Recipients

Illinois Community College Faculty Association Conference Presenters

Honors Student Advisory Committee (HSAC)

The Honors Student Advisory Committee (HSAC) represents students within the Honors Program and brings COD students together through social events, field trips, and service. Members maintain a minimum 3.2 cumulative GPA.

President Hisham Elseweifi Vice President Destiny Belzey Secretary Zainab Imam Treasurer Andrea Jovanovic Vice President of Marketing Sakina Khan Vice President of Social Media Nathan Verrips Vice President of Fundraising Maxwell Harris

Honors Scholars

Members of the Honors Scholars are graduating students who have successfully completed a minimum of 18 semester hours of Honors courses or 15 hours including an Honors seminar. These graduating students maintained a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.2/4.0 and will receive the Honors Scholar designation on their transcripts. They are given a medal to wear at Commencement.

Oscar Almonte Jacob Bearden John Bialek Jose Bolivar Matthew Catanag Yehya Chehab Maryam Chida Jude Dakak Fiona De Guzman Megan Dooley Sean Figuray Aidan Freund Josie Gloss G. Gray **Taylor Hanks** Fatima Imam Ava Jabi Andrea Jovanovic Dua Kanwal Kalota Sakina Khan Joseph Krebaum Sofie Langan Kelly Lupa Michael Manzano Garrett Martin Jessa Mae Mendiola Andrew Musielak Jhenevie Oca Caitlyn Oliva Joseph Prendergast Maximilian Prior Eleanor Rzeszut Saman Shariff Lindsey Sitman Samuel Wilson

Honors Scholar Candidates

Honors Scholar Candidates are students who have successfully completed at least 9 semester hours of Honors courses while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.2/4.0. These students receive the Honors Scholar Candidate designation on their transcripts. We are recognizing the Honors Scholar Candidates who are graduating.

> Mansoor Ahmed **Denise** Aquino Natalie Aquino Elizabeth Bashaw Daniel Bokuvka Morgan Carioscia Bryssa Chaidez Rida Faiz Hajira Fathima Maria Grimaldo Joseph Hermiz Spencer Hoberg Meda Jonaityte Haya Kalota Jacquelyn Kawczynski Zaira Khan Joseph Lundgren Kassandra Mendoza Rayan Mouly Claire Mueller Tu Nguyen Hetvi Patel Mark Pullen Lukas Rodriguez Favian Sanchez Michael Sanchez **Eleanor Schutzius** Amna Shaikh **Tia Siliquini** Niya Sims Katelin Sutherland Megan Swartz Christopher Talia

Amanda Tazbazian Stephanie Tenorio Zavala Merlin Thomas Bridget Tully Ella Walker

Honors Program Transfer Scholarship Recipients

The following students received full-tuition scholarships to the following schools:

Elmhurst University: Sakina Khan

Millikin University: Oscar Almonte

North Central College: G. Gray

One student received a generous Honors Transfer Scholarship to the following school:

Aurora University: Michael Manzano

Outstanding Graduates

Outstanding Graduate, Traditional Student Award Samuel Wilson

Outstanding Graduate, Non-Traditional Student Award Bonnie Bailey

> Outstanding Graduate, Finalists Vidhi Desai Hisham Elseweifi Amy Frese Leah Gormaz Jacqueline King-Tran Angelina Kregg

Outstanding Honors Faculty Award

Selected by the Honors Student Advisory Committee, with input from the Honors Program students:

Dr. Leslie Wolf, Philosophy & Religious Studies

Academic Excellence Awards

Faculty members nominated the following students for demonstrating academic excellence within a specific discipline, program or department:

Leen Al Kassar, Interior Design Jessie Amstadt, Nursing Tanya Cruz, Culinary Arts Natalie L. Dombi, Horticulture Hisham Elseweifi, Learning Commons: Tutoring Services Matthew Epstein, Counseling Jeffrey J. Evans, Business and Technology Justin Gjata, Music Lindzi Holmes, Human Services Frankie Klemm, Athletics Joseph Krebaum, English Luis Medina, Student Life Stephanie Mikuta, Justice Studies Jose Sanchez, Welding Louisa Surtz, Architecture Heather Sykora, Paralegal Studies Chris Talia, Theatre Sequoia Williams-Valenzuela, Art Jillian Wohlert, Veterans Services

STEM Student Success Scholarship Completers

The following students have completed the STEM Student Success Scholarship program funded by the National Science Foundation:

Saud Ahmed Asterie Sandrine Engome de Moume Ashleigh Estes Kailyn Gerringer Aya Jabi Jaeyun Jeong Rutkumar Patel Marla Portillo Soka Suliman Christopher Wilson

Honors Council of the Illinois Region Student Symposium

The HCIR Student Symposium was hosted by COD on February 26, 2022. The following students assisted with planning and/or managing the event:

Brenda Amador Destiny Belzey Maxwell Harris Zainab Imam Andrea Jovanovic Abeezar Kanpurwala Luis Medina Britney Nakhammouane Kristina Osslund Soka Suliman Nicole Spencer

Honors Council of the Illinois Region Student Symposium Presenters

The following students were selected to give presentations at the HCIR Student Symposium on February 26, 2022:

Amirah Ahmed Rowan Brandou Tiffany Cuevas Carolyn Dering Mary Dillon Hisham Elseweifi Opeyemi Fanami Anjanette Francisco Maxwell Harris Fatima Imam Nicole Spencer Alex Urbanski

2021 Illinois Community College Faculty Association Scholarship Recipients

Ellie DeBock Aya Jabi Andrea Jovanovic Brianna Moreno Jhenevie Oca Samuel Wilson

2021 Illinois Community College Faculty Association Conference Presenters

Destiny Belzey Hisham Elseweifi Ikram Isa