College of DuPage Courier TV Wins 10 Illinois Broadcast Association Silver Dome Awards

silver dome awards

By Angela Mennecke

Courier TV at College of DuPage has won 10 Illinois Broadcast Association Student Silver Dome Awards, including five first place awards, two second place awards and three third place awards.

Courier TV, which made its debut in spring 2015, is the student-run on-campus television broadcast at COD that covers campus life while providing students with hands-on opportunities to learn about journalism and television production.

“We were competing against four year universities and colleges, such as DePaul, Northern Illinois, Eastern Illinois, Southern Illinois, Illinois State and North Central that all have well-established media programs,” said Glenn Glinke, Program Support Specialist for COD’s Motion Picture/Television program. “Our students continue to demonstrate determination, ingenuity and a genuine curiosity about the stories that take place on campus every week. We’re so proud of their continued accomplishments.”

In the Best TV Longform Entertainment Programming, first place went to student Paul Kritikos (La Grange Park) for producing the “Bria Bermuda” segment (click here to watch). Second place went to the production team for the March 2018 segment of “Inside COD” (click here to watch): Josh Cheatman (Lisle), Manny Lopez, (Downers Grove), Alastaire Lundeen (Naperville), Kaled Noghnogh (Hinsdale), Nick Petrillo (Brookfield), Anna Pierczynski (Itasca), Karen Robinson (Wheaton), Anisa Selencia (Riverside), Alex Stockfleth (Elmhurst) and Briana Stuchl (Bolingbrook). Third place went to student Kacper Krucharski (Westmont) for producing the “The One About Dragons” segment (click here to watch).

For Best TV Newscast, first place went to the production team for the Oct. 26, 2017, Courier TV episode (click here to watch): Kyle Dearborn (Oswego), Daniel Flores (Woodridge), James Gramm (Plainfield), Brian Grebner (Geneva), Frank Miceli (Addison), Petrillo, Pierczynski, Selencia and Shone Ward (Elmhurst). Third place went to the production team for the Nov. 30, 2017 Courier TV episode (click here to watch): Dearborn, Flores, Gramm, Grebner, Lopez, Nathaniel Martinez (Plainfield), Petrillo, Pierczynski, Selencia and Ward.

For Best TV Spot, first place went to the production team for “COD Cares” (click here to watch): Tricia Altamore (Naperville), Nereo Carvajal (Berwyn), Dearborn, Andrew Yee (Naperville) and Arturo Zurita (Addison).

For Best TV Photojournalism, first place went to Dearborn, Gramm and Pierczynski for “Animal Rescue Foundation” (click here to watch), and third place went to Pierczynski, Selencia, Stockfleth, Sarah Taschetta (Winfield) and Abbas Tayabali (Westmont) for “French Market” (click here to watch).

For Best TV News Package, first place went to Dearborn and Petrillo for “Gun Show Protest” (click here to watch) and second place went to Pierczynski and Selencia for “COD Buddies” (click here to watch).

Click here to watch current and past episodes on YouTube, and click here to follow Courier TV Facebook.

For more information about Courier TV or the Motion Picture/Television program, visit, call (630) 942-2892 or email

Photo Caption: From left to right: COD students Karen Robinson, Abbas Tayebali, Anisa Selencia, Anna Pierczynski, Katie Marie, Manny Lopez and Paul Kritikos at DePaul University waiting for the Illinois Broadcast Association Student Silver Dome Award Ceremony to begin.