Three COD National Championship Basketball Teams Selected for IBCA Hall of Fame

IBCA presentation image

The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association has added three College of DuPage National Championship teams to its 2019 Hall of Fame class.

IBCA representatives honored the title-winning women’s basketball teams of 1999-2000 and 2001-2002 and the 2001-2002 men’s team Feb. 2 at the College.

Under head coach Earl Reed, the Lady Chaparrals won the first of their two titles in 2000, finishing the season 30-2. The team was ranked No. 1 in the country entering play and defeated Anoka-Ramsey (Minn.) 72-61 in the final. Sophomore All-American Ali Klaas was named tourney MVP after scoring a record 75 points in the three-game national tournament. Beth Rooks also earned All-American honors.

In 2002, the Chaparrals made history when they became the first junior college in the country to have both men’s and women’s teams win national titles. The eighth-seeded men’s team, under head Coach Don Klaas, defeated Dehli (N.Y.) in the opener and Sullivan (N.Y.) in the final. The Chaparrals finished the season 24-10 for Klaas’s first national title in seven trips to the final eight. The Lady Chaparrals, who were seeded first, rolled through the tournament and finished the season 27-4, defeating Northland (Minn.) 66-49 in the final for Reed’s second national title in three seasons.

“The day was outstanding. It gave our former student-athletes an opportunity to get together and reflect upon their accomplishments,” former Lady Chaparrals head Coach Earl Reed said of the IBCA presentation. “More importantly, it was an acknowledgement for their participation and achievements for the women’s program. For me, it was an honor to be a part of something special. To see them as adults become successful in their professional lives is very gratifying, whether it be in law enforcement, accounting or physical therapy, to name a few. They readily admit their positive contributions as adults are due, in part, to their time at COD.”

Founded in 1973, the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame honors the best and most influential players, teams, coaches, media, officials and friends of basketball in Illinois history. The IBCA Board of Directors annually selects inductees in a variety of categories, including teams, officials and coaches.

“The IBCA is honored to induct the players, coaches and staff from the College of DuPage Women’s National Championship teams of 2000 and 2002,” said IBCA Executive Board and Hall of Fame Committee member Mark Kleemann. “We also want to recognize the 2002 Men’s team which was inducted in 2012 but never fully honored.”

College of DuPage is a member of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Region IV and North Central Community College Conference. The College’s Athletics program offers nine men’s and eight women’s sports teams each year, including outdoor track and field, indoor track and field, cross country, football, volleyball, golf, basketball, tennis, baseball, softball and soccer. All home games are played on the Glen Ellyn campus, 425 Fawell Blvd., and are free and open to the public.

Read more about athletics at College of DuPage.

Pictured: Former COD women's Head Coach Earl Reed, COD Provost Mark Curtis-Chavez, COD Interim President Dr. Brian Caputo, former COD men's Head Coach Don Klaas and COD Director of Athletics and Recreation Greg McVey.