COD Student Journalists Earn Top Awards from ICCJA

By: Mike McKissack

ICCJA Article Image

The College of DuPage student newspaper, "The Courier," earned 24 top awards and an honorable mention at the 2019 Illinois Community College Journalism Association (ICCJA) conference held earlier this month.

Established in 1967, the Courier is COD’s student-run weekly newspaper dedicated to reporting, promoting and explaining school and community issues while analyzing their impact on the student body.

Individual winners include Brandon Beckwith, first place for Front Page Design, first place for Graphics, second and third place for Page Design, third place for Page Design; Reanna Comiso, second place for Feature Writing; Miguel Contreras, first and second place for Sports Feature, honorable mention for Sports News; Tessa Morton, first place for News Story, first place for News Column, second place for Arts Review; Alison Pfaff, second place for Feature Photo, second place for News Photo; Joey Weslo, first place for Reporter of the Year, first place for Sports Column; and Kimberly Wilson, first place for Editorial Writer of the Year, first place for Staff Editorial.

As a staff, the Courier also earned the Division 1 General Excellence Award for the second consecutive year and third place for News Series of the Year, while the Courier website earned a second place award.

To view the current and archived issues of the newspaper, visit: