COD Horticulture Students Place Third in National Competition

By: Mike McKissack

nclc article icon

A team of 19 College of DuPage horticulture students recently placed third among community colleges in the National Collegiate Landscape Competition hosted by the National Association of Landscape Professionals. The team placed 14th among 64 community colleges and universities combined.

Individual winners include Elaina Blankenhagen (Sugar Grove), third place in 3D Design; Gannon Siran (Westmont), ninth place in Interior Landscape Design, 12th place overall in Computer-Aided Design, 12th place in Plant Problem Diagnosis; Daniel Stantz (Northwoods), 13th place in Irrigation Design, eighth place overall in Small Engine Repair.

Group winners include Timothy Follin (Aurora) and Brett Somogyi(Carol Stream), eighth place in Truck and Trailer; Follin and Rafael Zavala (Aurora), eighth place in Landscape Maintenance Operations; Andrew Kielion (Batavia) and Stantz, sixth place in Irrigation Assembly, seventh place in Irrigation Troubleshooting; Daniel Paddack (Bartlett) and Brandon Spencer (Aurora), eighth place in Business Management.

Additional team members include Steven Baier (Boynton Beach, Fla.), Wyatt Bergman (Sugar Grove), Tyler Gorski (Wheaton), Robert Hottel(Bartlett), Madison Konecny (Wheaton), Elijah Milender (Wheaton), Christopher Mishevski (Clarendon Hills), Dean Poskonka (Milwaukee, WI), Seth Risch (Aurora) and Maryam Salem (Bridgeview).

Designed to cultivate, inspire and showcase the talents of the next generation of lawn and landscape professionals, the National Collegiate Landscape Competition provides the nation’s top students enrolled in two- and four-year colleges and universities the opportunity to hone their skills and connect with professionals from the field. 

Learn more about the Horticulture program at College of DuPage.

Pictured above, front row, left to right: Elijah Millender, Madison Konecny, Rafael Zavala, Brandon Spencer, Seth Risch, Wyatt Bergman, Dean Poskonka, Steven Baier, Tyler Gorski, Daniel Stantz, Andrew Kielion, Gannon Siran and Timothy Follin. Second row, left to right: Elaina Blankenhagen, Maryam Salem, Christopher Mishevski, Robert Hottel, Daniel Paddack and Brett Somogyi.