COD Student Leadership Council Lobbies for Illinois Community Colleges

By: Mike McKissack

SLC Article Icon

Members of the College of DuPage Student Leadership Council team met with Illinois state representatives and senators as part of Student Advocacy Day, an annual event organized by the Illinois Community College Board’s Student Advisory Committee.

The College’s delegation advocated for Senate Bill 1641, which would flag all students eligible for SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program) when filing a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), aiding students experiencing food insecurity. The delegation also worked in support of House Bill 0302, which provides scholarships to adult students enrolling into a degree or certificate program at a community college.

This year’s delegation included SLC President Hajara-Yasmin Isa (Naperville), President-Elect Uthman Khilji (Naperville), Kimberly Mancilla (Addison), Civic Engagement Officer Anthony Walker (Bensenville), Operations Officer Mathew Frazier (Wheaton), Service Officer and Vice President-Elect Amna Razi (Wheaton), Student Trustee Jasmine Schuett (Warrenville), former student trustee Sonia Paul (Naperville), and SLC voter representatives Leen Tajeddin (Willowbrook), Alexander Carbonell (Hanover Park) and Victoria Vila (Brookfield).

The Student Leadership Council of College of DuPage facilitates values-based opportunities for leadership development to enhance citizenship at the College and in the community.

Learn more about the Student Leadership Council at College of DuPage.