College of DuPage Student Life Hosts 19th Annual Awards Celebration

By: Mike McKissack

Student Life Awards Article Image

College of DuPage student Amy Garechana is the Benjamin P. Hyink Student Leader of the Year award recipient. Garechana was one of several students and organizations honored for outstanding achievement at the College’s Student Life awards celebration. View more photos from the event.

The event featured a ceremony recognizing the accomplishments of the College’s clubs and student leaders.

Individual winners include:

  • Rose Arnold, Environmental Club, Outstanding Club Officer
  • Kaitlyn Kunde, La Connexion Francaise, Outstanding Club Officer
  • Joel Bahena, Sci-Fi/Fantasy & Gaming Club, Outstanding Club President
  • Min Pan, Chinese Student Club, Advisor of the Year
  • Jim Allen, Sci-Fi-/Fantasy & Gaming Club, Spirit of Student Life

The 2018-2019 club winners include:

  • Girl Up, New Club of the Year
  • Lambda Epsilon Chi, Honor Society of the Year
  • Paralegal Club, Academic/Pre-Professional Club of the Year
  • Chinese Student Club, Cultural/Ethnic Club of the Year

The celebration also recognized students who have completed phases of the Living Leadership program. Winners include:

  • Living Leadership program completions: Alyssa Berger, Alexander De Guzman, Poonam Rahman, Rama Swedeh, Leen Tajeddin, Michael Ting, Kimberly Vela, Jasmine Tia Wiley
  • Living Leadership (first year completion): Jose Eduardo Duran Del Rosario

 For more information on the more than 90 clubs and organizations offered at College of DuPage to promote student engagement, please visit