Writing, Reading, and Speech Assistance

The Writing, Reading, and Speech Assistance is open to all College of DuPage students, faculty, and staff, free of charge. Our coaches are both peer tutors and part-time faculty. The Writing, Reading, and Speech  Assistance is open during the spring, summer and fall terms.

The Speech Assistance area is a safe and non-threatening environment to practice presentation skills to facilitate success in developing and delivering effective presentations. The speech studio provides a multi-media space for individuals or groups to rehearse and/or record presentations. Speech coaches offer help with research, outlining, and delivery.

Writing coaches provide one-to-one assistance at the Glen Ellyn campus or online with a variety of activities, such as narrowing a topic, focusing a thesis, deciding on strategies, revising a paper, etc. Assistance is available for all types of assignments in all academic disciplines. Coaches do not edit papers. They will help you understand the assignment, develop and organize your ideas, and write clearly.  In addition, reading coaches help students at all levels improve their comprehension and develop strategies that enhance overall learning absorption and reading enjoyment.

Coaching takes place during a single session or through a series of standing appointments.

To make the most of your visits:

  • Come early in the semester and come often
  • Bring the assignment sheet or anything that explains the assignment
  • Know what you want to work on
  • Plan enough time for revision

 

Hours 

Main Campus in Glen Ellyn 
(630) 942-3355
SRC 2102   

January 20 to May 10:

Monday to Thursday:  8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Friday:                        9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Saturday:                    9 a.m. to noon
Sunday:                      1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Finals Week:
Monday, May 11 to Wednesday, May 13: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Semester Break:
Monday, May 18:        10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Tuesday, May 19:       10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Wednesday, May 20:  1 to 5 p.m.
Thursday, May 21:      10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Monday, May 25:         Closed
Tuesday, May 26:        1 to 5 p.m.
Wednesday, May 27:   10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Thursday, May 28:       10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Monday, June 1:          10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Tuesday, June 2:         10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Wednesday, June 3:    10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Thursday, June 4:        3 to 5 p.m.


Contact Information


Learning Commons
Student Resource Center (SRC), Room 2102, (630) 942-3941

Mathematics Assistance
(630) 942-3339

Writing, Reading, and Speech Assistance
(630) 942-3355

Tutoring Services
(630) 942-3686

Resources: